Asparagus

Asparagus

Asparagus

I didn’t grow up eating asparagus and it always looked a little scary in restaurants. You know the kind, an unnatural green, bizarely sagging, mushy spears. Yuck. Not knowing how to cook it, I’ve resisted it for a long time, but finally gave it a try. Turns out, I like it. A lot. I’ve roasted it a few times, but I was in an experimenting mood today. What you see is what I came up with.

Ingredients:
1 lb asparagus
1-3 tb of olive oil,
1-2 tb of anchovy paste
3-5 cloves of garlic, finely minced
a pinch of chipotle pepper (optional)

Steps:
1. Heat the minced garlic in the olive oil on low heat, until it’s fragrant.
2. Add the anchovy paste and try to dissolve it. It probably won’t dissolve completely at this point, and that’s OK. It will with the asparagus.
3. Add asparagus (and chipotle pepper, if using) and turn up the heat to high. Cook for a few minutes stirring all the time, until crisp-tender.

I served it with baked salmon. If you’re worried about tasting anchovies, don’t. All you taste is the smoky, velvety taste of something. Can’t quite put your finger on it, but definitely no fishy taste. And my choice of serving it with salmon was great. It worked out well.

I know what I’m having for lunch tomorrow. Who wouldn’t want this even as leftovers?!

Asparagus cooking

Asparagus cooking

Finished Asparagus

Finished Asparagus



Salmon and Asparagus

Salmon and Asparagus

2 responses to “Asparagus

  1. Oh, how I love asparagus!
    Peef had a similar experience to you. Every experience with asparagus from his childhood was nasty and mushy. So, he was shocked to find that asparagus is such a lovely thing when cooked crisp-tender!

    Love the anchovies in this dish! Don’t you love how they add a bit of that “special something”?? And NOT fishy at all!

    • I love the little extra the anchovies added. Actually, they added quite a bit, but nothing fishy. But I love anchovies anyways (yes, tried it on pizza), so I wouldn’t have minded the taste. And the velvetiness they added was wonderful.

Leave a Reply

