Oven Roasted Shrimp

Oven Roasted Shrimp

Oven Roasted Shrimp

I have tried all sorts of ways of making shrimp in the few years that I’ve been making shrimp.  But after watching Ina Garten, I decided to give her recipe a try.  It’s absolutely the easiest and most delicious one I’ve tried.  No fussing, just shrimp, olive oil, salt, pepper, oven.  Of course, shrimp has to be fresh too.

This is where Fabian Seafood of Galveston Texas comes in. You see, a friend of mine has been telling me about shrimp from the back of a truck for nearly a decade. It always sounds like someone is selling stolen goods or spoiled goods so I never tried it. But then I noticed the buzz about it in the local blogosphere with the Julia of Yulinka Cooks and Peef & Lo so I figured they were safe. I actually bought shrimp from Fabian a couple times now, and tried different things, but this is the dish that turned out. 😉

Ingredients:
Shrimp (I used about 1 lb large, but you can use as much as you want)
Salt, pepper, olive oil

Steps:
1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
2. Clean your shrimp (Fabian’s shrimp isn’t cleaned, but it’s ok, it’s delicious).
3. Place the shrimp on a baking sheet, drizzle olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper. Mix well so all the shrimp is coated evenly with the mixture.
4. Bake for about 5-7 minutes, dpending on your oven and size of shrimp.

15 responses to “Oven Roasted Shrimp

  1. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  2. Wonder if this oven technique will make the shrimp taste more like lobster?

    • This may sound odd, but I don’t really like lobster. To me, it barely has any taste. This shrimp however, is loaded with taste. Let me know how it turns out if you try it.

  3. Turned out great…no messy water to drain.

  4. They were easier to peel, too!

  5. Now then, what about glucosamine and chondroitin?

    Where’s Alton Brown?

    I thought of a new show for the ‘food netwok’ (lol)…

    Something like “Iron Chef”…only with real cooks doin’ ‘adlib’ like Mother’s so often must do when the pantry’s getting low.

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!!!

  6. Next time, however, I think I’ll cook it naked.

    No seasoning or ‘even oil’…’til or after it’s done.

  7. I love to experiment in the kitchen.

    Maybe I’ll try cooking it on a bed of lemons with a little ‘sage.’

    Better than letting those old, sour lemons go to waste.

  8. Might even end up with real ‘popcorn shrimp.’

  9. Darn it, doesn’t anyone know that ‘those shells’ are “Good Eats,” too!!!

    Kinda’ crunchy, yet there must be some ‘good recipe’ so there’s no waste.

  10. Some recipes are ‘so good’ they’re patent ‘like gold.’

  11. bullion

    lol

  12. Well, I did what I said I would do. I cooked them ‘naked’ without oil, salt or pepper…they were perfect…except I cooked them a minute or 2, too long.

Leave a Reply

