Banana Bread Experiment

I’ve been looking for an easy recipe that doesn’t call for exotic ingredients. And by “exotic” I mean something I’d actually have to go look for in a store. My goal really was to use ingredients I already have on hand. And I really wanted to use bananas. Since I can’t really eat raw bananas and I really like how they smell, I was really looking forward to some kind of a banana bread. I learned that when fruit is cooked it has different digestive properties and those who are allergic to the raw variety might be able to eat the same fruit cooked. I’m one of those people when it comes to bananas. So, I found this recipe and have been trying for weeks (or has it been months already) to make it. But with the holidays and birthday season of the past 6 weeks, it hasn’t been a priority.

I’ve finally managed to find some time today. It turned out OK, but a little darker than the picture on David Lebovitz’ site. I think that’s because I used some espresso. However, his recipe doesn’t specify how much of it to use, so I used just a little bit (one teaspoon dissolved in just enough hot water). Other than that, I followed the recipe to the letter. We’ll see if anyone else likes it.

Leave a Reply

