Mushroom “Stroganoff”

mushroom-stroganoff

YUM

I was reading a few yummy recipes, some for beef stroganoff and some for a mushroom and pasta dish, and the wires must have gotten crossed and this creation emerged.  I had a rather large packet of mushrooms from Costco and I’ve been trying not to waste them (again).  So I figured I’d saute them and server with ribbon pasta and some sort of sauce, but that’s not exactly what happened.  Here is what I did:

Ingredients:
24oz packet of mushrooms (thinly sliced)
1 cup of low-fat sour cream
Roasted asparagus (optional; I just had some in the fridge so decided to use it)
1 large onion (diced)
Salt, freshly ground black pepper, sweet paprika, smoked spanish paprika (all to taste)
Noodles (I used half a pound of whole wheat ones)

Steps:
Cook noodles according to package directions
1. Saute onion.
2. Add mushrooms and saute them too. If you see it sticking, add some stock or pasta water.
3. Add sour cream. Season.
4. Add asparagus, if using.

mushrooms_onions

Mushrooms and onions

mushroom stroganoff

With Sourcream

mushroom stroganoff with pasta

With Noodles

2 responses to “Mushroom “Stroganoff”

  1. That looks great. I want to make mushroom stroganoff with meatballs. Maybe chicken or turkey meatballs, simmered with the mushroom sauce.

  2. Yum! I’m going to get an ingredient list together for this recipe. Sounds amazing! I love meatless meals, but this one looks hearty enough to satisfy even my son and husband.

Leave a Reply

