Another Giveaway

It’s been a long time since my last giveaway, and the wonderful people at Red Gold have offered another sampler.  What you’d get is a fairly large tin and in the tin are cans of tomatoes, a reusable bag (I use it all the time and it holds tons), a cookbook, and a commemorative cute little truck.

So, here are the rules:

Add a comment to this blog with your favorite or easy tomato recipe.  The owner of the winning recipe gets the prize.

4 responses to “Another Giveaway

  1. I’d love to win! Here’s my favorite casserole recipe using canned tomatoes:

    Spicy Corn & Tomato Casserole

    1 lg. onion, chopped
    2 med. green peppers, chopped
    1/2 c. butter
    1/4 c. all purpose flour
    2 c. fresh or frozen corn
    2 c. long grain cooked rice
    1 c. diced tomatoes with liquid (my family likes the kind with chiles, but if you don’t want is so spicy use the regular kind)
    4 hardcooked eggs, chopped
    2 1/2 cups shredded sharp cheese, divided
    2 T. Worcestershire sauce
    2 to 3 t. hot pepper sauce
    2 t. salt
    1 t. pepper

    In large skillet, saute onion and peppers in butter until tender. Stir in flour. Remove from heat. Add remaining ingredients except for 1/2 cup cheese. Pour into greased 2 1/2 qt. baking dish. Bake uncovered, at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. Top with remaining cheese. Let stand 5 minutes, then eat and enjoy!

  2. Since I use tomatoes in most everything I cook, it has been hard for me to choose a favorite recipe. I like simple foods that are easy to prepare. The following is not an original recipe but I have had it so long that I have lost the source.

    Chiligetti

    1 lb ground beef
    1/2 cup chopped onion
    1 (15.5oz) can chili beans
    1 (15oz) can diced tomatoes
    1 tsp chili powder
    1 (16oz) pkg spaghetti
    1 (8oz) shredded cheese

    Brown ground beef in skillet, drain. Add onion cook till tender and then add beans, tomatoes, chili powder. Simmer 10 minutes. Cook spaghetti according to package & drain well. Serve spaghetti topped with chili mixture and cheese.

    • That sounds really good. And I think I have all the ingredients to make this (a rare event that I have all the ingredients for a recipe)!

Leave a Reply

